Jeff is reclaiming his unique digital identity with a sense of clarity.

18th Evening… Went shopping! ;)

Today was staff appreciation day at work so I got a nice bbq lunch for free! Also, the boss decided to hand out ‘incentive cards’ today… We don’t work on a commission, but do work on a system that is somewhat similar to that sort of, where we have monthly audits done, and if you do so well in an audit you are eligible for an incentive card. There’s been a few months before now that I was not getting cards since our section was not eligible for them because of a joint team agreement to not have audits done for a few months due to a massive change in job duties (we wen’t from a single payer per patient account rep system to an alpha split based on patient’s last name so we all had to learn one another’s payers websites, phone numbers, contact info, special billing procedures, etc. inside and out and have been doing that the last couple of months)… The max incentive is $100.00, and we get a percentage of that based on audit scores. This round – I got the full one hundred bucks… so I decided to go and spend it…

Went to Wal-Mart with the intention of buying a doorway pull up thing that I saw a few months back… but ended up getting a 7 in 1 system that included that from Gold’s Gym. This thing has the door way pull up system, a ab roller (which basically is a lawn mower tire with an axle on it), and something very similar to the ‘perfect pushup’ infomercial item that is always blasted on late night tv these days… UNFORTUNATELY I won’t be able to use the pull up bar for a while until I get below 250 lbs since the Walmart employee at Wal-mart that I asked about the weight max on it (since it didn’t have it on the box, just on stuff inside of the box in manual, etc.) lied and said that the max weight was 300 or more lbs… I should take it back based on that premise alone, but won’t… It’s just an incentive to get down to that weight. I’ve come so far… hopefully a few more months and I’ll be there. I can still use the other parts in this kit for now… Also got a neat little tool in this gizmo… comes with a gizmo that has screwdriver and little hex wrench and hex screwdriver thingy too.
(there was another combo set from Gold’s Gym there that didn’t have the ‘perfect pushup’ gizmo but had something similar to the ‘shake weight’… after watching the South Park Episode on Shake Weight a few weeks back, and also after feeling how much strain is on my wrists doing the close pushups in the Power 90, I figured I definitely wanted the pushup gizmo instead of the shake weight deally bopper, lol)

Then decided to look around at Walmart for a few other things while I was in the exercise equipment aisle…

Found a nice little 8 lb medicine ball… Its a lot softer than most medicine balls I’ve seen… it’s like a plastic ball with sand inside of it… the plastic is soft. I hope it holds up. Seems like it’s very much more ergonomic than most medicine balls I’ve seen before that are made from hard plastic that is more like a basketball… this thing is more like a volleyball/kickball type of material… and it’s nice design… looks like a bowling ball from a distance.

Then… found a nice little dumbbell set that comes with a adjustable kettle bell handle so went ahead and picked it up too. I figure I better learn how to do the swings on this lighter adjustable system instead of trying to use that heavy ol ghettobell/concrete block and rope monster I put together a few days ago. There are four 7.5 lb weights there so there’s a max of 30 lbs if I use them all (unless I mix and match with some of my other weights that I already own). I’ll probably start with just two of them – or 15 lbs since that’s a fairly light weight amount, but enough that it’ll be a challenge at the start of learning this thing… I’ve read and heard on various kettle bell instruction videos in various places online that if you are going to get in to it, you need to use a weight that’s not too heavy but not too light because too light of a weight (which I suspect 7.5 lbs would be for me) will teach you bad form… which is bad news for when you go up in weight…

Well, about 75 bucks out of the hundred is now gone… but this is some stuff I’ll be using for years from now, and the benefits of having it will be enormous. I will still keep the ghetto bell in the car for now, but won’t probably approach it for a while til I’m ready because I think the last couple of times I tried it my back/neck was really strained afterwards much more than they should have been. Need to build up to that…

The other 25 bucks will probably go doing something fun with Tekla tomorrow… (on rest/s day). We are thinking about going to see a movie, but the only one that looks like it’d be worth spending money on that’s playing is Judge Dredd, which I’m not really sure if either of us wants to see or not… if we don’t do that we’ll do something else.. maybe go out and eat or something.

Leave a Reply

